Keep it Like a Secret

good thing i have that midwestern work ethic

9:34 p.m., Jan. 13, 2004

What I Did at Work Today, by Stevie Kuenn, Age 25.

I got in at 8:25 and cleaned my desk off. I met with my editor over some layout changes she wanted to make and then I started making them.

I called people from my Singles list to harass them about not turning items in on time.

I made yet another great stride in my climb towards becoming Anna Wintour when I made my intern go through 12 years of archives to find one quote about sex being like fast food. (Last week, I sent the other one out for lunch. Yes, I know. I'm awful.)

I talked to my personal banker about rolling my 401k over to an IRA.

I went back to my layouts.

At some point, I took a lunch break for the first time in weeks to drop off my new jeans for hemming(love that 25-inch inseam, baby!), pick up a prescription for Diflucan, my 11th such prescription in the past year and actually see my personal banker in person, but we had to put that off untl tomorrow. He will bank for me then. Oh yes.

I brainstormed themes for a party. (Work-related, I swear.)

I looked at photos of cute guys. (Again, work-related, I swear.)

Then I proofread more layouts. A LOT more layouts.

I put together a highlight reel, if you will, of unusual stuff our singles have done. (Many of them are good cooks, for the record.)

Then, I personally typed the last straggler surveys for our singles list into the computer. Usually I reserve this sort of thing for interns; perhaps I'm not really turning into the devil yet. (Of course, I don't wear Prada and it was 7:15 p.m. at this point, so there weren't any interns around, but...yeah.)

Finally, at 8:30 I went home. On the train, I wore out my highlighter on singles entries.

And now I'm going to eat. I love those 12-hour days.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow