Keep it Like a Secret

the last time you read this diary, i was in my early 20s

8:44 a.m., Mar. 25, 2003

I turned 25 on Sunday. My dad said he was happy I hit a quarter-century before he hit a half-century, but I noted that if he did the math, that was never a possibility. He was happy to hear that I knew enough math to figure that out.

Keith and I celebrated by walking down to Yoshi's for brunch, going to Field's for ice cream and shopping and then watching the Oscars* at Tasha and Bob's party. Keith also got a CD of variations on "Happy Birthday" that he played in the morning, while I got dressed. It was very sweet.

The night before, we went to the Congress with our friends, and that was fun too. They make pretty good pizza and a damn good old-fashioned, although the sidecar at the Congress leaves something to be desired. (Like lemon juice). Also, we ate cake with strawberries and peaches on top.

All in all, it was a fine birthday. Pretty low-key, but that's how I like to live my life. Drama just isn't my bag.

*I enjoyed them. Steve Martin should host every year and no one egregious won. I was floored when Adrien Brody won, and pleasantly surprised by wins for Chris Cooper and "Spirited Away." I'm still sorting out how I feel about Polanski - I didn't see "The Pianist," but I do know that he's a phenomenal talent. Then again, he also drugged and raped a 13-year-old then ran away. I guess you can separate the work from the man, but it's a little hard for me.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

MAC Trax shimmers and sparkles. Good purply eyecolor.

Turning Off the Cell Phone at Night means you won't get a wrong number at 12:45 a.m.

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow