Keep it Like a Secret

The trash strike is o-vah!

12:52 p.m., Oct. 09, 2003

Pretend Fukui-san announced that title.)

Hurray. Our dumpster finally moved to the horrific and disgusting mark last night, so this is just in time. Also, the city smells bad and that's really unfortunate.

So, if you live in Chicago, please go to the nearest Red Streak machine and part with a quarter. Turn to page 16 - and you'll find a club profile by yours truly! I'd link to the article itself, but it's not available online. Still, I am quite pleased. Next week, I have a feature called City on a Shoestring: 10 Things to Do Under $10 (or thereabout).

I am also going to running class for the first time in two weeks, since I've been sidelined with tendonitis in the ankle. I've iced it and managed to get in a pain-free run on Monday, so I'm feeling pretty confident. 2.5 miles is about what I liked to run before my injury - I hope I can ease right back into it.

I am in a cheery mood. Maybe it's the cherry yogurt I just had. Or the garbage strike being o-vah. Or the freelance opportunities. Or the incredible weather. Or the Cubs winning last night.

Who knows? I just hope it lasts.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

Sammy Sosa's last two home runs - just amazing. I love baseball playoffs.

If Chocolate Creme Oreos are wrong, I don't want to be right.

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow