Keep it Like a Secret

rain, rain go away

12:46 p.m., Oct. 14, 2003

I've got a cough. I don't know if it's of the It's-October-and-you're-asthmatic vein of coughs, or the you've-got-bronchitis vein. Grr. I know which I'm voting for, especially since my doctor's on maternity leave for another month.

Anyway. It's a really ugly day in Chicago. I actually woke up at 6:15 like I plan to almost every morning to go out for a run. (I really do this regularly sometimes, just not lately.) I got to Ravenswood and Foster (about 3 1/2 blocks) and I was shivering and soaked. So I turned around and ran home. Anyone who tells you you can run in freezing rain is an idiot. Maybe you can, but that doesn't mean you should. It's not fun.

I hope it lets up soon, as my beloved Chicago Cubs take the field in Game Six at Wrigley tonight. I'm so confident - almost too confident. But our best pitcher is on the mound, and we're at home! And our offense is actually playing well! I will be tucked up in my living room, going through boxes and getting ready to celebrate.

The Chicago Cubs logo is on my Lite Brite. My Lite Brite is in the front window. There is champagne chilling in the fridge*. Tonight is the night. I can feel it in my bones.

*Well, the champagne is from our party. No one wanted it, but it's been chilling ever since. It's not Cristal - but it is Cristalino! It's like Cristal's really cheap little sister.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

Was John Hiatt good at some point?

Quentin Tarantino! The man is a genius and Kill Bill is further proof.

I am reading The Lord of the Rings. After all, I love the movies AND Zeppelin.

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow