Keep it Like a Secret

Party girl

3:29 p.m., Sept. 29, 2003

Ooof, I am tired.

Keith and I hosted the first party at our condo on Saturday. We served a lot of liquor and made almost all the appetizers ourselves.

We had chicken satay, dates wrapped in turkey bacon, homemade sushi, spinach-yogurt dip with crudites, a cheese plate with chicken sausage and a nine-year cheddar (plus bleu cheese and a soft French cheese), chips and salsa and cookies. (We didn't make the cookies.) Oh, and some sort of coffee cake thing.

Did I mention that the liquor flowed freely? It did. And there's still plenty left for the next party or two.

It was a really fun party, by my estimation, and the fact that the first person to arrive got there at 7:20 and the last to leave left around 2:30 a.m. I met some new people and everyone seemed to get along. Plus the iPod Radio plan worked out great - it only ended when our iPod ran out of batteries, shortly after our last guests left but before Keith finished his post-party cigar.

Yesterday, we ran stuff through the dishwasher and sat around in our pajamas, watching "Alias" on DVD. I didn't get dressed until 5 p.m. I was wiped out from all the cleaning, cooking and entertaining. Being a social butterfly is truly hard work.

And tonight, our opera series starts! We are seeing Regina, an opera written by the Cradle Will Rock guy that's based on "The Little Foxes." It's the opening night for this particular show, so I feel very special to be a part of it. I am pretty much only at work today because we have opera tickets tonight (I'm still exhausted, plus some tummy pains woke me at 2 a.m.), so this show better be worth it.

And we're driving, because I am going to crash hard when I get home.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

Cubs win! Cubs win!. My Lite-Brite currently bears the Cubs logo.

So I can't believe I misjudged Alias so badly. D'oh! I'm glad I can catch up.

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow