Keep it Like a Secret

Movin' on up

10:40 a.m., Oct. 23, 2003

Okay. Everything is pretty much set up, so I feel that I can announce this on the Internet now.

I am leaving the oh-so-glamorous world of in-house retail advertising in two weeks.

I have a new job. I'm going to be the managing editor of a woman's magazine in Chicago. I will write departments, edit columns, proofread pages, schedule photo shoots and supervise interns.

Yes, supervise interns. I don't think they're going to believe that I'm older than them.

While I'm grateful that I've been able to meet some wonderful people that I wouldn't have met otherwise and also learned some skills in dealing with the insane, I am extremely, extremely happy to be leaving. This new job is exactly why I went to graduate school and I can't wait to get started.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

RIP Elliot Smith. You will be missed.

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow