Keep it Like a Secret

Parking despots make me angry

12:59 p.m., Apr. 15, 2002

Oof! I forgot that college towns are ruled by parking Nazis, not normal government officials.

So every now and then, I drive to my morning class in Evanston. When it's early, a short ride beats out a long train ride. So today, I go to leave after class. I'm in a great mood - the weather is beautiful, my classes are going great and I don't need to transfer trains at Howard.

I get in my car and see the parking jeep approaching, so I breathe a sigh of relief and begin flipping through CDs. Then this woman pulls up right next to me and yells "This is two-hour parking!"

I said "Oh, I'm just about to leave." She screams back "You'll go right now!"

Now, I do have sympathy for parking attendents. When I was an undergrad, I wrote a story about one. I followed him around for a morning and he talked to me about his parking-patrol philosophy.

See, meter maids/misters are needed. It would be total anarchy without them. I don't begrudge them their job. I wouldn't have complained if I came back to the car and there was a ticket on my car. If I broke the law, I have to pay the price. I get that.

But none of that mattered after she started screaming at me. So I said "Well, you'll have to get out of my way so I can move my car -- right now."

And then she threatened to ticket me for my big mouth (!). Her mouth is tiny, apparently.

So I pulled out and stopped right in front of her and made her wait for me to put my CD in. It was so worth it.

Grr.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow