Keep it Like a Secret

This must be released

11:37 p.m., Dec. 16, 2003

So I know I haven't updated in God knows when, but I've been working 9-11 hour days lately, so I just haven't had the time.

I only really have one thing to say and it's this:

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD PEOPLE, PLEASE ACCEPT THAT I KEPT MY LAST NAME!

If I get one more fucking Christmas card addressed to Mr. and Mrs. Keith P*****, I am going to lose my mind. I put K****/P***** on all of my thank-you notes. I've told people this personally. My email address includes my last name! I know it's not typical for women to keep their last names and it's easy to assume, but why on earth can't people accept this? We've been married for over a year. Even my 75-year-old grandmother has gotten this. It's my freaking name - they should respect my wishes, not some years-old chattel laws.

ARGH.

I am seriously thinking of signing my Christmas cards with my last name in all caps. No joke.

So when you keep your last name, everyone thinks it's a phase (har) or they just don't think it's a big deal to address things with a different last name - like you're a big weirdo for doing this, and you'll just deal. Well, I'm sick of it. Why should I have to be the one to adjust?

Mmph. At least I got free chocolate martinis at Keith's Christmas party.

And I have another hour's worth of work before bed.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow