Keep it Like a Secret

Ah, cynicism.

9:16 a.m., Jan. 29, 2003

Last night, I let Keith talk me into watching the State of the Union speech, even though I swore I wouldn't watch it.

I've watched it every year since I was, like, 15 or something. And I know I get pissy when people ignore current events because, hey, this is America and we've got rights that other people don't, and what good are they if we just ignore what's around us and don't use these inalienable rights to make our country work?

But I also knew that I would just get upset and annoyed, and dismayed because he's still got two more years and a bunch of yes-men in Congress to do exactly what he wants. So just as I don't listen to gangsta rap or read stories about kittens in danger, I decided I wasn't going to watch the speech because it would just offend and upset me.

But I digress. I got through the first half (in which we called for tax cuts for the rich, to ban partial-birth abortion and to give drugs to fight HIV in Africa - but not, you know, family planning services) and then I fell asleep.

When I woke up, I had this conversation with Mr. We Must Be Informed.

Me: So, what did he say in the second half?
Keith: Uh, I dunno, some shit about Iraq.

Good thing I usually listen to "Morning Edition" on my way to work. Bob Edwards totally filled me in.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

George W. Bush. Blargh. Is he really the president?

The Virgin Suicides. I love the way this movie uses music - the score by Air but also '70s soft-rock classics.

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow