Keep it Like a Secret

Coif you.

3:47 p.m., Feb. 10, 2003

My hair is so gross right now.

Apparently, hair is not to be washed everyday. I always thought this was total crap, but I've developed a small halo around my head and my stylist says the best way to keep the halo away is to wash it every other day.

Sometimes that works out okay. But today - oh man. I feel like my hair was once a mop or something - I can feel the dirt settling. It's so limp and greasy, it's just driving me nuts. I even put my sweatshirt's hood over my head for awhile, just 'cos it's so bad right now.

I am used to my hair looking absolutely perfect, and feeling soft, silky and non-dishraggy. This is currently not happening, much to my chagrin.

I swear, I am really not this shallow - I am concerned about stuff, like impending war, dead astronauts, pay inequality between women and men, the consistent erosion of reproductive-health rights in this country and making sure every puppy in the world has a good home.

I think about those things a lot, and do my best to change things when I can.

But sometimes, a bad hair day can ruin the best intentions and most noble thoughts. The sloppy, icky mess atop my head isn't allowing me to think about much else.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

My new lamp at work is much easier on my eyes than the old lamp.

Taco Bell's Monterey Quesadilla is shockingly tasty.

Black Bean Cakes are pretty good, but require significant time investment to cook.

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow