Keep it Like a Secret

breathe in breathe out

9:48 p.m., Oct. 20, 2003

So asthma sucks. I have had asthma for seven years and the first three years or so, it was a bitch. No, that's reversed. I was asthma's bitch. Then I took a miracle anti-inflammatory drug named theophyllin that made my lungs strong like the Hulk. Before theophyllin came around though, I also took inhaled steroids (they were legal), albuterol and some inhaler that was bigger than both of my fists together and actually gave me some sort of high when I used it.

Anyway. The miracle drug made things better. It didn't cure me - much like becoming a vampire, asthma is something that never goes away. But my attacks became very infrequent and I didn't have trouble breathing anymore.

So over the course of the last four years, I have used my inhaler about five times total. I even stopped carrying it around with me. And as I've learned, hubris is often a downfall.

So Thursday morning, I went for a run and noticed that my chest got really tight about halfway through. I stopped and walked home. I felt better when I got home so I didn't pull out my inhaler. Well, this weekend I started coughing and I really haven't stopped.

I discovered that my inhaler expired, uh, nine months ago and it didn't do anything when I used it. I got a new inhaler tonight and that's helped. But let me tell you: coughing for four days straight is exhausting work.

I am breathing easier now, but I'm a bit scared. I don't really want to go back to theophyllin or sleeping with an air hydrator. But if I have to, I have to. And I've learned that my lungs are not really strong like the Hulk.

I have another race this weekend, and I'm not sure I'm going to be able to run it. I don't want to be in this position ever again, so I need to take this opportunity to take care of myself and make sure that my lungs get the TLC they need, whether I think they need it or not.

Also, I'm going to the dentist tomorrow. Wish me luck.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow