Keep it Like a Secret

I make up my mind, and they fall apart

3:55 p.m., Oct. 17, 2003

So before the sportscasters invoked the curse by uttering "The Red Sox are five outs away from the World Series,*" I'd decided to root for the Red Sox.

Here's why:

1. If they won, maybe our curse would break too. (Yeah, wishful thinking, I know. Still.)

2. Pedro Martinez is a badass.

3. Many of my favorite Internet friends are Boston fans.

4. Boston is/was also home to Jonathan Richman and the Pixies.

5. My friend Jim lives there, although he's not what you'd call "sports-minded." Still. I'm sure he'd be rooting for them.

I guess I'll just have to hold onto these reasons until next year.

*Those were the magic words that ruined it for the Cubs, too.

Past + Present + Archive+ Rings + Contact Me + Sign Guestbook + Diaryland

steviek

Likes/Dislikes*

*there are no likes/dislikes on entries written before Oct. 12, 2002.

Required Reading
MediaNews
TV Barn
Flak
Bust
New York Times
Slate
Metacritic

The Onion
The Onion AV Club

Friendster
Gawker
Centerstage

Blogs, Diaries, Sites
Jenny
Matty
Jannelle
Jess
Jim
Elise
Scott
Claire
Patrick
Emily
Dan
Lindsay
Tasha

Dooce
Wil Wheaton
Tom Tomorrow